Great News About the HHS Decision to Cover Breast Cancer Prevention Drugs

The U.S. Department of Health and Human Services ruled today that certain breast cancer prevention drugs will be covered by health insurance plans under the Affordable Care Act. Read more. 

This very important announcement means that patients at increased risk of breast cancer can now receive chemoprevention drugs, including tamoxifen and raloxifene, without a co-pay or other out-of-pocket expense. The decision comes after recommendations from the U.S. Preventive Services Task Force that patients deemed to be at increased risk of breast cancer (due to age, family history or other factors) can take such preventive medication to decrease the risk of developing the disease.

The HHS decision is a significant milestone in America’s health care system. The expanded coverage will empower patients across the country to make informed decisions based on their breast cancer risk without additional financial burden.

In addition to this new coverage, the Affordable Care Act currently requires insurers to cover mammography, with no cost-sharing, every one to two years for women starting at age 40. Medicare fully pays for mammograms once every 12 months with no upper age limit.

Komen has also consistently advocated for coverage for quality cancer care for all women. Breast cancer prevention has been a key focus of Komen’s research portfolio for many years, with almost $47 million invested into prevention research.

More information.


About the author

Judy Salerno has written 23 articles for Susan G. Komen® | Blog

Judith A. Salerno, M.D., M.S., is the President and Chief Executive Officer of Susan G. Komen®, responsible for the day-to-day operation of the organization and for setting Komen’s strategic vision. Dr. Salerno brings extensive experience in research, public health policy and community health to the role. Before joining Komen, she was the Leonard D. Schaeffer Executive Officer of the Institute of Medicine (IOM) of the National Academies, serving as executive director and chief operating officer of the Institute.